University of Calgary. Faculty of Humanities

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

University of Calgary. Faculty of Humanities

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Faculty of Humanities was established in 1976 when the Faculty of Arts and Sciences was divided into the Faculties of Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences, and the University College. The Faculty was officially inaugurated in February 1978 with Robertson Davies giving the address.
In 2010, the Faculty of Humanities merged with the Faculties of Fine Arts, Communication and Culture, and Social Sciences to form a new ""super faculty,"" the Faculty of Arts.

Deans of the Faculty of Humanities: J. Woods, 1976-1979; P.C. Craigie, 1979-1984; B.F. Chellas, 1984-1989; R.B. Bond, 1989-1997; H. Joldersma, 1997-1998 (Acting Dean); J.W. Humphrey, 1998-1999 (Acting Dean); P.-Y.A. Mocquais, 1999-2004; R. Smith, 2004-2008, D. Maher, 2008-2010 (Interim Dean).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes