University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Search archival collections at the University of Calgary

University of Calgary. Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

University of Calgary. Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Department of Physics was established at the University of Alberta, Calgary in 1963. When the University of Calgary was created in 1966, the Department became part of the Faculty of Arts and Science. When that faculty split in 1977, the Department moved into the Faculty of Science. In 1989, it was renamed the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Heads of the Department of Physics and Astronomy: C. Challice, 1963-1971; R. Krouse, 1971-1974; T. Mathews, 1974-1985; J. Bland, 1985-1995; S. Murphree, 1995-2000; B. Hicks, 2000-2005; R. Taylor, 2005-2010; R. Thompson, 2010-.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

Request archival material »

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC