University of Calgary. Department of Art

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

University of Calgary. Department of Art

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Courses in art were first offered in the 1955/56 school year as part of the Faculty of Arts and Science. In 1964/65, the Department of Fine Arts was formed, with F. E. Churchly as Head. The separate Departments of Art, Drama, and Music were formed in 1968/69 when the Faculty of Fine Arts was created.
In 2010, the Department of Art was moved to the new Faculty of Arts formed from the merger of the four former faculties of Fine Arts, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Communication and Culture.

The Department of Art is committed to the study and practice of the visual arts as these related to educational practice and theory, creative art making, and to the understanding of art in its diverse historical and cultural settings.

Heads of the Department of Art: F.E. Churchly, 1964-1965; A.M. Brown, 1965-1968; E.M. Dodd, 1968-1973; V. Brosz, 1973-1979; L. Cromwell, 1979-1983; J. Polzer, 1982-1983; P.A. Lloyd, 1983-1986; E.M. Dodd, 1986-1987 (Acting); E. Cameron, 1987-1998; G.M. Hushlak, 1998-2005; A. Nishimura, 2005-2009; J.R. Leblanc, 2010-2012; B. Rusted, 2012-.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes