University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Search archival collections at the University of Calgary

Fundos F0255 - Senate fonds.

Original Objeto digital not accessible

Zona de identificação

Código de referência



Senate fonds.


  • 1964-2010 (Produção)

Nível de descrição


Dimensão e suporte

23.41 m of textual records and other material:

5 cm (1 metre length) of university tartan cloth

156 audio recordings:
122 audiotape cassettes
7 CDs
27 ¼-inch tapes

70 video recordings:
26 VHS videocassettes
2 Umatic videocassettes
2 Beta videocassettes
40 DVDs

Zona do contexto

Nome do produtor

História administrativa

The University of Calgary Senate creates a bridge between the University and the wider community. Its purpose is to represent the public interest, promote the university on local, national and international levels, influence decision makers, foster student interests and promote and recognize excellence. It achieves these objectives through regular meetings, ongoing standing committee work, special events held throughout the year and by providing a continued and highly visible contact point for all stakeholders to communicate with the university.

The Senate was created by The Universities Act and its first meeting was held September 27, 1966. It meets five times per year, in addition to holding an annual two day seminar. The Senate is empowered to inquire into matters which might enhance the usefulness of the University, serves as the public conscience of the University, effects public communication, elects the Chancellor and selects honorary degree recipients.

Membership in the Senate consists of the Chancellor; the President; Vice-President (Academic); the Dean, Continuing Education; the President and Vice-President of the Alumni Association; two deans; two Board of Governors members; three members of the General Faculties Council; two members of the Alumni Association; nine members of the public; four students; one graduate student; two non-academic staff; and thirty members representative of affiliated colleges, groups or organizations with an interest in the University.

The Senate has several Committees including: the Executive (sets the agenda for each Senate meeting, acts as a steering committee, recommends policy, and carries out directives of Senate); Programming committee (a sub-committee of the Executive, it is responsible for ensuring effective and efficient Senate meetings, developing improved participation by Senators, and in bringing forward topics and presentations of interest to the Senate); Nominating Committee; Honorary Degrees Committee (solicits, reviews and selectes nominations for Honorary Degree recipients); Finance Committee (overviews the financial condition of the University and the Senate, and prepares the Senate's budget); Concerns and Inquiry Committee (solicits, acknowledges and conducts inquiries into any University concerns, and strikes a Task Force as required when major issues arise); Public Communications Committee/External Relations (provides information concerning activities to the public, and forms Listening Groups to hear about activities of local organisations vis a vis the University); University Strategy Committee (develops response statements and position papers for Senate on current issues); Seminar Planning Committee (its sole responsibility is to plan the Senate's annual seminar retreat. It appears that after c.1974, the Committee which had the responsibility for selecting the Distinguished Lecturers was allocated to the Public Affairs office.

The Task Force on Accessibility was a study done from November 1987-May 1990. The mandate of the task force was to establish how qualified and motivated students could secure positions at the University by looking at changes in tuition, transfer credits, academic criteria and the length of college preparation. Other Task Forces have focused on such issues as the accessibility of Day Care services on campus; university funding; spirit on the University of Calgary campus; ethnic diversity; the University's mission statement; and, on more than one occssion, the role of the Senate itself.

The chair of the Senate is the University Chancellor. Dr. Philip Francis Galbraith, Chancellor of The University of Alberta served as interim chancellor in 1966. Subsequent incumbents have been: The Honourable Colin Campbell McLaurin (1966-1970); William Alva Friley (1970-1974); Muriel Libin Kovitz (1974-1978); Jean Louis Lebel (1978-1982); Brian S. Norford (1982-1986); James S. Palmer (1986-1990); David Bruce Smith (1990-1994 ); M. Ann McCaig (1994-1998); J. Jack Perraton (1998-2002 ); William J. Warren (2002-2006); Joanne A. Cuthbertson (2006-2010); Jim Dinning (2010-2014); Robert Thirsk (2014-).

Entidade detentora

História do arquivo

Fonte imediata de aquisição ou transferência

Zona do conteúdo e estrutura

Âmbito e conteúdo

Fonds consists of records created in pursuit of the Senate's responsibility to "enhance the usefulness" of the University. The fonds has been arranged into seven series, including: (1) Minutes; (2) Ceremonies and visitors; (3) Chancellor's club dinners; (4) Distinguished lecturers; (5) Task forces; (6) Subject files; and (7) Graphic and audio-visual materials. Includes minutes of the Senate and its various commitees and ad hoc committees; convocation planning files, video recordings of convocations, honorary degree recipient nominations and citations, planning files for luncheons, receptions and various ceremonies; chancellor's club dinner planning files; Distinguished Lecturers Series case files and sound recordings; task force reports and research materials; various subject files including Senate seminar planning records, minutes of committees on which Senate representatives sat; and photographs and video recordings of Senate members and their activities.

Cheque requisitions, hotel booking confimations, inter-departmental billing records and other such "housekeeping records" have been culled from the files.

Fonds includes series for Pamphlets, and Pamphlets, Special Convocations.

Avaliação, selecção e eliminação

Ingressos adicionais

Sistema de organização

Zona de condições de acesso e utilização

Condições de acesso

Administrative records are restricted for a period of 15 years as authorized under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Condiçoes de reprodução

Idioma do material

Script do material

Notas ao idioma e script


Características físicas e requisitos técnicos

Instrumentos de descrição

Zona de documentação associada

Existência e localização de originais

Existência e localização de cópias

Unidades de descrição relacionadas

Descrições relacionadas

Zona das notas

Identificador(es) alternativo(s)



Pontos de acesso

Pontos de acesso - Assuntos

Pontos de acesso - Locais

Pontos de acesso - Nomes

Pontos de acesso de género

Zona do controlo da descrição

Identificador da descrição

Identificador da instituição

Regras ou convenções utilizadas


Nível de detalhe

Datas de criação, revisão, eliminação

Línguas e escritas



Objeto digital (Mestre) zona de direitos

Objeto digital (Referência) zona de direitos

Objeto digital (Icone) zona de direitos

Zona da incorporação

Request archival material »

Assuntos relacionados

Pessoas e organizações relacionadas

Géneros relacionados

Locais relacionados