Schulich School of Engineering

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Schulich School of Engineering

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Instruction in engineering began at The University of Alberta in Calgary in 1957 when the first year of a BSc degree was offered under the direction of the Faculty of Engineering (U of A). A second year was begun in 1960. The Division of Engineering at the University of Alberta, Calgary was established by the Board of Governors in 1963. It was headed by a chairperson and operated under the Dean of Engineering, U of A. In 1965, the division became the Faculty of Engineering.

In January, 1964 Dr. A.M. Neville and G.W. Govier published a report entitled ""The Development of the Engineering Programme, University of Alberta, Calgary"" in which they outlined their views on and recommedations for an undergraduate curriculum in Calgary. The proposals were adopted by the Engineering Council and would form the cornerstone of the new Engineering undergraduate program at the University, implemented from 1965-1968.

In 1966, the General Faculties Council approved an MSc degree in the Department of Electrical Engineering and a PhD program in the Department of Chemical Engineering. In the following year the Department of Mechanical Engineering began offering a PhD program.

In 2005, prominent Canadian philanthropist and entrepreneur Seymour Schulich donated $25 million to the University of Calgary. It resulted in the renaming of the Faculty of Engineering to the Schulich School of Engineering and the creation of the Seymour Schulich Scholarships, the largest pool of engineering entrance scholarships in Canada.

Deans of the Schulich School of Engineering: A. Neville, 1965-1967; H.A.R. dePaiva, 1967-1968 (Acting Dean); R.A. Ritter, 1968-1974; G. Huber, 1974 (Acting Dean); A.E. McMullen, 1975 (Acting Dean); T.H. Barton, 1975-1980; O. Malik, 1981 (Acting Dean); T.H. Barton, 1981-1985; L.T. Bruton, 1985-1990; E. Rhodes, 1990-1994; S.Chan Wirasinghe, 1994-2006; E. Cannon, 2006-2010; A. Mehrotra, 2010-2011 (Interim Dean); G. Gendron, 2011-2013; B. Rosehart, 2013-.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes