Fonds F0230 - Faculty of Science fonds.

Identity area

Reference code



Faculty of Science fonds.


  • 1953-2013 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

8.24 m of textual records

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

The Calgary Branch of the University of Alberta started offering arts and science courses in 1945. In 1951, the Faculty of Arts and Sciences was opened in Calgary, offering the first year of a BA or BSc degree. The second year of a BA or BSc was offered starting in 1959 and full degrees in 1960. The Faculty of Science was established in 1976 after the division of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences into the Faculties of Humanities, Science, Social Sciences, and the University College.

The Faculty of Science is governed by the Faculty of Science Council which determines policies for curriculum, standards, enrollments and administrative procedures. The Executive Council is the screening committee for the preparation of all material that is considered by the Faculty of Science Council.
The Faculty includes the Departments of Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Sciences, Geoscience, Mathematics & Statistics, and Physics & Astronomy.

Deans of the Faculty of Science: N.R. Parsons, 1976-1978; T.A. Oliver, 1978-1984; D.A. Armstrong, 1984-1989; E.J.M. Kendall, 1989-1997; P.M. Boorman, 1997-2005; S. Murphree, 2005-2010; K. Barker, 2010-2015; L. Rigg, 2015-.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Fonds consists of Faculty of Science Council minutes and Faculty of Science Executive Committee minutes (1967-1970, 1976-1980); Dean's office records including minutes of the Dean's Advisory committee and the Deans Council (1979-1980); minutes of the Faculty of Science Curriculum, University College and Research committees (1976-1981); issues of "The Wavelet" and "Faculty of Science Newsletter"; pamphlets and annual reports (1984-1988) of the Faculty of Science; correspondence with Bamfield Marine Station; student awards material; architectural drawings created for the Faculty of Science; and a report of the 2012-2013 cohort of the Arts and Science Honours Academy titled "The Report of the Philospher Kings." Fonds includes series for Annual Reports, Pamphlets, and Arts & Science Honours Academy.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Administrative records are restricted for a period of 15 years as authorized under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes


Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)



Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area