University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Search archival collections at the University of Calgary

Archief F0197 - Board of Governors fonds.


referentie code



Board of Governors fonds.


  • 1958-1992 (Vervaardig)



Omvang en medium

52.33 m of textual records and other material:

5 ceremonial keys
1 poster
32 microfilm reels


Naam van de archiefvormer


The University's structure (established by The Universities Act of 1966) is multicameral (ie. checks and balances with authority diffused throughout the system). The two main chambers are the Board of Governors and the General Faculties Council. The Board of Governors is the corporate body of the University and is responsible for the property of the University and its financial affairs. It appoints officers and employees of the University, establishes salary scales, appoints the President, and gives final approval to the operating and capital budgets of the University. It consists of the chairperson, Chancellor, President of the University and other persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. For example, in 1966 there were eleven other persons, two of which were alumni association members, one senate member, two academic staff members. By 1982, in addition to the eleven other persons, two students, one graduate student and eight other persons had been added. After 1994, known as the University Secretariat. Frederick Clarence Manning was the first chair of the U of C Board of Governors (1966-1967). Subsequent incumbents have been Leroy Allan Thorssen (1967-1970); Maclean Everett Jones (1970-1972); Carl Olof Nickle (1972-1974); Dr. Gordon Cummings Swann (1974-1975), Ross Anderson MacKimmie (1975-1984), Robert A. Wilson (1984-1990); Richard Haskayne (1990-1996); Ted Newall (1996-2001) and Brian F. MacNeill (2001-).


Geschiedenis van het archief

Directe bron van verwerving of overbrenging

Inhoud en structuur

Bereik en inhoud

Fonds consists of minutes, agenda packages, and accompanying documents for the Board of Governors, the Board of Governors Executive Committee, and all standing committees of the Board. Fonds also consists of a subject file series (c1975-2005).

Waardering, vernietiging en slectie


Accruals are expected for the Board, Executive and current standing committees.


The fonds is arranged into series by committee name. A series for subject files will be added in the future.

Voorwaarden voor toegang en gebruik

Voorwaarden voor raadpleging

Administrative records are restricted for a period of 15 years as authorized under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Voorwaarden voor reproductie

Taal van het materiaal

Schrift van het materiaal

Taal en schrift aantekeningen


Fysieke eigenschappen en technische eisen


Series descriptions only. Contact for specific files.

Verwante materialen

Bestaan en verblifplaats van originelen

Bestaan en verblijfplaats van kopieën

Related units of description

See also UARC 00.004, 92.078 for University of Alberta Board of Governors records. Five ceremonial keys are also held by the University Archives.

Related descriptions



This fonds originally contained the records of the University Press Committee (1981-1987). These records are now located in 94.014.

Alternative identifier(s)




Onderwerp trefwoord

Geografische trefwoorden

Naam ontsluitingsterm

Genre access points


Identificatie van de beschrijving

Identificatiecode van de instelling

Toegepaste regels en/of conventies


Niveau van detaillering

Verwijdering van datering archiefvorming

Taal (talen)



Voorwaarden voor raadpleging en gebruik

Request archival material »

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places