University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Search archival collections at the University of Calgary

Fondo F0197 - Board of Governors fonds.

Área de identidad

Código de referencia



Board of Governors fonds.


  • 1958-1992 (Creación)

Nivel de descripción


Volumen y soporte

52.33 m of textual records and other material:

5 ceremonial keys
1 poster
32 microfilm reels

Área de contexto

Nombre del productor

Historia biográfica

The University's structure (established by The Universities Act of 1966) is multicameral (ie. checks and balances with authority diffused throughout the system). The two main chambers are the Board of Governors and the General Faculties Council. The Board of Governors is the corporate body of the University and is responsible for the property of the University and its financial affairs. It appoints officers and employees of the University, establishes salary scales, appoints the President, and gives final approval to the operating and capital budgets of the University. It consists of the chairperson, Chancellor, President of the University and other persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. For example, in 1966 there were eleven other persons, two of which were alumni association members, one senate member, two academic staff members. By 1982, in addition to the eleven other persons, two students, one graduate student and eight other persons had been added. After 1994, known as the University Secretariat. Frederick Clarence Manning was the first chair of the U of C Board of Governors (1966-1967). Subsequent incumbents have been Leroy Allan Thorssen (1967-1970); Maclean Everett Jones (1970-1972); Carl Olof Nickle (1972-1974); Dr. Gordon Cummings Swann (1974-1975), Ross Anderson MacKimmie (1975-1984), Robert A. Wilson (1984-1990); Richard Haskayne (1990-1996); Ted Newall (1996-2001) and Brian F. MacNeill (2001-).

Institución archivística

Historia archivística

Origen del ingreso o transferencia

Área de contenido y estructura

Alcance y contenido

Fonds consists of minutes, agenda packages, and accompanying documents for the Board of Governors, the Board of Governors Executive Committee, and all standing committees of the Board. Fonds also consists of a subject file series (c1975-2005).

Valorización, destrucción y programación


Accruals are expected for the Board, Executive and current standing committees.

Sistema de arreglo

The fonds is arranged into series by committee name. A series for subject files will be added in the future.

Área de condiciones de acceso y uso

Condiciones de acceso

Administrative records are restricted for a period of 15 years as authorized under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.


Idioma del material

Escritura del material

Notas sobre las lenguas y escrituras


Características físicas y requisitos técnicos

Instrumentos de descripción

Series descriptions only. Contact for specific files.

Área de materiales relacionados

Existencia y localización de originales

Existencia y localización de copias

Unidades de descripción relacionadas

See also UARC 00.004, 92.078 for University of Alberta Board of Governors records. Five ceremonial keys are also held by the University Archives.

Descripciones relacionadas

Área de notas


This fonds originally contained the records of the University Press Committee (1981-1987). These records are now located in 94.014.

Identificador/es alternativo(os)



Puntos de acceso

Puntos de acceso por materia

Puntos de acceso por lugar

Puntos de acceso por autoridad

Tipo de puntos de acceso

Área de control de la descripción

Identificador de la descripción

Identificador de la institución

Reglas y/o convenciones usadas

Estado de elaboración

Nivel de detalle

Fechas de creación revisión eliminación




Área de Ingreso

Request archival material »

Materias relacionadas

Personas y organizaciones relacionadas

Tipos relacionados

Lugares relacionados