Showing 27235 results

Geauthoriseerde beschrijving

University of Calgary. Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

The Department of Physics was established at the University of Alberta, Calgary in 1963. When the University of Calgary was created in 1966, the Department became part of the Faculty of Arts and Science. When that faculty split in 1977, the Department moved into the Faculty of Science. In 1989, it was renamed the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Heads of the Department of Physics and Astronomy: C. Challice, 1963-1971; R. Krouse, 1971-1974; T. Mathews, 1974-1985; J. Bland, 1985-1995; S. Murphree, 1995-2000; B. Hicks, 2000-2005; R. Taylor, 2005-2010; R. Thompson, 2010-.

Flagler, Elizabeth

Dr. Elizabeth Ann (Betty) Flagler was born in Brandon, Manitoba on February 1, 1947. She earned her BSc and medical degree at the University of Alberta and completed her residency training in Calgary and Toronto. She had an active community based practice in Calgary since 1976 working at the Foothills and Grace Hospitals. Dr. Flagler had a particular interest in colposcopy since setting up a clinic at the Cancer Clinic in 1977.

In 1979, Dr. Flagler began as an Assistant Professor for the Division of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Calgary. This changed to a Clinical Assistant in 1983 and then in 1985 she was a Clinical Associate with the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. In 1990, she took a sabbatical leave to study ethics at the University of British Columbia which resulted in a joint appointment in the Faculty of Medicine in Medical Bioethics, and Obstetrics and Gynecology. During the 1999-2000 academic year, Dr. Flagler was Acting Director for the Office of Medical Bioethics.

Active with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA) Independant Committee on Doctor/Patient Sexual Involvement and a myriad other provincial and national committees pertaining to ethics, Dr. Flagler was a founding Board member of the Sheldon M. Chumir Foundation for Ethics in Leadership. She was awarded the YWCA Women of Distinction Award in 1997 and a life membership in the CPSA in 2000 which she had served as President of in 1997. Dr. Flagler passed away on May 12, 2002.

University of Calgary. Management and Professional Staff

The Management and Professional Staff group had its origins at the University as the Administrative and Professional Staff Association (APSA), which was dissolved in 2000. In 2001, the Management and Professional Staff group (MaPS) was established with the mission to be "Partners in University Leadership." It is represented by the MaPS Executive Committee. This Committee is comprised of nine members elected by MaPS staff. Members of the committee represent the MaPS group on many University of Calgary committees and volunteer for activities related to the MaPS group. The role of MaPS Executive is to work collaboratively to represent MaPS employees, to foster a culture of partnership in the leadership of the institution, and to promote a positive and productive work environment for MaPS employees.

University of Calgary. Campus Planning

  • Instelling

The Campus Planning Office was in existence by the mid-late 1990s. It has prime responsibility for the assignment of space, and (working with colleagues across campus) shares responsibility for the inventory, utilization and evaluation of academic and administrative facilities at University of Calgary-owned and occupied sites. Most of what Campus Planning does is related to infrastructure projects.

Campus Planning reports to the Deputy-Provost as part of the Vice-President (Academic)/Provost's portfolio. The unit is closely associated with the Office of Institutional Analysis to ensure that planning and reporting activities remain driven by the university's goals.

Campus Planning also works closely with the Vice-President (Facilities Management and Development) portfolio. CP's accountability for the allocation of space on campus is intimately tied to both Facilities Management (which operates and maintains existing infrastructure) and Facilities Development (which steers the re-development and construction of new spaces).

University of Calgary. Immunological Sciences Research Group

The Immunological Sciences Research Group formed in the Faculty of Medicine prior to 1987. In 2008, it became part of the Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases and subsequently was renamed the Immunology Research Group. In 2014, the Faculty of Medicine was renamed the Cumming School of Medicine.

University of Calgary. Division of Applied Psychology

The Division of Applied Psychology was first established in the Faculty of Education in 1962 as the Department of Educational Psychology. The Division of Applied Psychology was established within the Faculty of Education (which became in the Werklund School of Education in 2013) in the 2000/01 school year.

Effective May 2012, Applied Psychology (APSY) changed its name to Educational Psychology (EDPS). By 2015, it was listed as part of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, its mission being to contribute to the development of thought and practice in Applied Psychology through faculty and student research, the education of professionals, and collaboration with, and service to, local, national, and international communities.

Heads of the Department of Educational Psychology / Division of Applied Psychology:
J.S. Woodsworth, 1962-1973; B.P. Frost, 1973-1977; R.A. Lambert, 1977-1980; R.I. Brown, 1980-1987; L.H. Sandals, 1987-1992; H.A. Altmann (Acting), 1992-1994; S.E. Robertson, 1994-1999; K.V. Cairns, 2000-2001; B. Hiebert, 2001-2006; V. Schwean, 2006-2010; T. Strong, 2010-2012.

Resultaten 11 tot 20 van 27235